Book Award Winners

Book Awards

ALSC Book & Media Awards Shelf (children)

Award-winning and Notable titles selected annually by the members of the Association for Library Service to Children. This collection spans 100 years, reflecting the evolution of ALSC’s awards history and delivering the latest, greatest materials for contemporary readers, listeners, learners, and gamers, as well.

Bram Stoker Awards (horror)

Presented by the Horror Writers Association (HWA) for “superior achievement” in dark fantasy and horror writing. Presented annually since 1987.

Caldecott Medal (children’s picture)

The Randolph Caldecott Medal recognizes the previous year’s “most distinguished American picture book for children”, since 1937.

Edgar Awards (mystery)

The Edgar Allan Poe Awards, named after Edgar Allan Poe, are presented every year by the Mystery Writers of America. Want more? View their database of winners going back to 1946.

Hugo Awards (science fiction)

Awarded annually for the best science fiction or fantasy works and achievements of the previous year. The awards are named after Hugo Gernsback, the founder of the pioneering science fiction magazine Amazing Stories. Organized and overseen by the World Science Fiction Society.

Man Booker Prize (fiction)

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction is a literary prize awarded each year for the best original novel, written in the English language, and published in the UK.

Mythopoeic Awards (fantasy)

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award (for Adult and Children’s Literature) is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume novel, or single-author story collection published during the previous year that best exemplifies “the spirit of the Inklings”

Nebula Awards (science fiction)

The Nebula Awards annually recognize the best works of science fiction or fantasy published in the United States during the previous year. The awards are organized and awarded by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA).

Newbery Medal (children)

The John Newbery Medal is a literary award given by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association.

Nobel Prize (literature)

The Nobel Prize in Literature has been awarded annually, since 1901, to an author from any country who has produced in the field of literature the most outstanding work in an ideal direction.

Notable Books List (adult)

Since 1944, the goal of the Notable Books Council has been to make available to the nation’s readers a list of 25 very good, very readable, and at times very important fiction, nonfiction, and poetry books for the adult reader.

PEN/Faulkner Awards (American fiction)

The PEN/Faulkner Award honors the best work of fiction published by an American in a single calendar year.


The Pulitzer Prize is an award for achievements in newspaper and online journalism, literature, and musical composition in the United States. Including fiction, drama, history, biographies, poetry and more.

Spur Award (western)

Western Writers of America annually honors writers for distinguished writing about the American West with the Spur Awards.

Select a Language